Sys-Manage Logo
SSL | Register | Login Thursday, August 6, 2020 Flag en-US 
Search
 

User Environment Migration

 

This video explains how to use CopyRight2's user environment migration features to migrate Windows® user profiles between servers. It covers the migration of the profiles themselves, shortcuts (LNK files), persistent network connections and application settings such as the most recently used (MRU) file list to reflect new file and folder locations after a migration.

  Environment  

The source "WIN2K8R2FS" is running Windows® 2008 R2 and the target "WIN2K12R2FS" Windows® 2012 R2. Both are running remote desktop services allowing users to logon with the remote desktop client.

The source server is a member in the "DomainA.com" domain and the target server is a member of the "DomainB.Com" domain. The software is installed and run on the target system. If newer Windows® versions were used, or if running it on the source, or if source and target were in the same domain or even configured for workgroup mode the same settings could be used.

There are local users on the source server logging on over RDP. The local users are members in local groups located on the member server, granting them permissions to some group shares hosted on the member server as well.

This example video demonstrates how to migrate user profiles of remote desktop users, shortcuts (LNK files), persistent network connections, settings like the most recently used files and other settings referring to migrated UNC paths. It will also show how to migrate local groups, user accounts (including passwords), files, folders, NTFS permissions, file shares, file share permissions.

  Settings  

Job Type
Data Migration

Name and Description Page
Name: Copy Profiles and Group Shares

Source and Destination Page

Source Destination
\\WIN2K8R2FS\C$\Groupdata \\WIN2K12R2FS\C$\Groupdata
\\WIN2K8R2FS\C$\Users\Adrian \\WIN2K12R2FS\C$\Users\Adrian


Synchronization: Add/Update/Delete
Reparse points (Outside): Copy
Reparse points (Inside): Translate

User and Group Filter Page
Users: Enabled (Add/Update)
Local groups: Enabled (Add/Update)

User and Group Options Page
Local group memberships: Enabled (Add/Remove)
Migrate user passwords: Enabled
Global group memberships: Enabled (Add/Remove)
Local group members: Enabled (Add/Remove)

User Environment Page
Update user home share: Enabled
Update user profile: Enabled
Translate shortcut paths: Enabled
Reacl NTUser.Dat registry permissions: Enabled
Search and replace UNC paths in registry: Enabled
Update persistent network connections: Enabled

File Shares Page
Include file shares located at specified folder(s) and below: Enabled (Add/Remove)

  Notes  

The settings used assume that no users are working while the migration takes place. If you want to use an approach with multiple passes (pre-copy/final copy) you additionally have to enable the "Ignore errors resulting from locked files" ("Error Processing" page) option for the pre-copy pass(es) to prevent errors from occuring because of locked files.

This feature is intended to migrate RDP/Terminal Services user profile or roaming user profiles that are stored on your file server. If you want to migrate profiles located on workstations, we recommend that you look into tools such as Forensit's User Profile Wizard.

  Video  
  Download  

Copyright © Sys-Manage, 1998-2020. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Statement
Terms Of Use